I welcome you to the Faculty of Basic Clinical Sciences, College of Medicine, Ekiti State University Ado Ekiti, Ekiti State, Nigeria. The Faculty was established in 2012 under the able leadership of Emeritus Professor Williams Olufemi Odesanmi  who served as the pioneer Dean of the Faculty. The Faculty comprises of 5 Departments, namely;

  1. Department Of Anatomic Pathology
  2. Department Of Chemical Pathology
  3. Department Of Haematology And Blood Transfusion
  4. Department Of Microbiology And Parasitology
  5. Department Of Pharmacology and therapeutics

The primary focus of the Faculty is the training of medical students leading to the award of MBBS degree. However, some of the departments in the faculty are involved in the training of Nursing students and students in the department of physiology and Anatomy.

There are numerous hardworking and dedicated academic and non-academic staff in the faculty working to ensure the smooth running of the academic programs.

Dr M.U Dada

Acting Dean of The Faculty

Brief History of The Faculty

Faculty of Basic Clinical Sciences is one of the Faculties of the College of Medicine. It is created to teach Medical Students the subjects of Pathology and Pharmacology. This preparation is done through teaching, academic supervision and examination in the clinical years in their pursuit of the MB.BS degree programme. The founding Dean is Prof. W.O. Odesanmi whose tenure lasted from August 1, 2012 to July 31, 2016. He was instrumental in attracting a core of dedicated academic staff to the Faculty from other centres. The first set of staff recruited were Dr Atiba A.S., a lecturer 1 in the Department of Chemical Pathology, Dr Fadare J.O., a Senior lecturer in the Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics and Dr Ayansanwo O., a Senior lecturer in the Department of Haematology and Blood Transfusion. Prof, Esan G.F., while serving as the Provost of the College was also a member of the Department of Haemoatology. Prof, Odesanmi as the Dean, set a solid foundation preparing the Faculty for it’s first accreditation exercise by the NUC and the Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria (MDCN) in 2014. Dr Joseph J. O. Fadare took over as Acting Dean of Faculty on August 1, 2016 and served a tenure of two years. The Faculty was able to secure accreditation for part 2 MBBS from the MDCN in 2018 and successfully conducted it’s first professional examinations in Pathology and Pharmacology in April,2018. In 2018 Dr. Adegun from the faculty of Clinical Sciences took over as the Ag. Dean of the Faculty after which Dr Fadare J.O. came back as Ag. Dean at the expiration of first tenure of Dr. Adegun in August 1st, 2019. Currently, Dr. Fadare J.O., an Associate Professor in the Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics is the Ag. Dean of the Faculty.