Brief History of The Faculty

Department of Surgery is one of the Clinical Departments in the Faculty of Clinical

Sciences of College of Medicine, Ekiti State University. It was established in February 2011 with Prof. K.S. Oluwadiya as the pioneer Head of Department (HOD) till July 2014. Prof J.O. Esho took over as the Head of Department between August 2014 and July 2018. This was followed by Dr. J.D. Ogunlusi as the Ag. Head of Department between August 2018 and July 2020 and Dr. M.B. Yusuf between August 2020 and July 2022. Dr. J.G. Olaogun took over on 1st of August, 2022 and is still the current Ag. Head of Department.

There are six subspecialties in the Department of Surgery:

  1. General Surgery/Paediatrics

            Dr. J.G. Olaogun

            Dr. J.I. Ige

            Dr. S.O. Fatudimu


  1. Orthopaedic and Trauma

            Prof. K.S. Oluwadiya

            Dr. J.D. Ogunlusi

            Dr. S.O. Popoola

            Dr. M.B. Yusuf


  1. Urology

            Prof. P.T. Adegun


  1. Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

            Dr. K.O. Ogundipe

            Dr. I.A. Kadiri


  1. Neurosurgery

           Dr. O.O. Oyeleye

  1. Cardiothoracic Surgery

            Dr. D.B. Idowu