Brief History of The Department

The MBBS programme of the College of Medicine, Ekiti State University started with the establishment of the faculties under the leadership of Prof GJ Esan, the then Provost. The Department of Pharmacology was one of the pioneering departments in the Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences. The purposeful efforts of the Provost resulted in the attraction of the pioneering staff of the department- Dr Abayomi Sijuade, who was appointed the departmental coordinator in August 2011. He was later joined by Prof. Catherine O. Falade (adjunct) and Prof Emudianugbe (of blessed memory) in September 2011.

The Department of Pharmacology was temporarily accommodated in the Physiology building where it had its laboratories and staff offices before it eventually moved to it’s permanent home in the Pharmacology and Biochemistry building.

The philosophy of the department is to produce medical graduates who have sufficient knowledge of basic pharmacology and are able to apply this knowledge to clinical practice. Overall, the students are expected to apply the principle of pharmacology to the management of clinical problems.





  1. Professor J.O. Fadare – MD (Bulgaria), FMCP (Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics), MA (Bioethics)
  2. Dr E.J. Araromi- M.B.Ch.B, PDE, M.Sc (Pharmacology):  Lecturer I. Departmental Coordinator
  3. Dr B. Adegoke – M.B.B.S, FMCPsych, M.Sc (Pharmacology): Lecturer 1
  4. Dr MU Dada – MB,Ch.B,  FMCPsych, MSc (Pub. Health, Unilag): Reader (Adjunct Lecturer)
  5. Dr Jide Afolayan – MB,Ch.B (OAU), PGD (Anaesthicia), FMCA (Anaesthicia): Reader (Adjunct Lecturer)
  6. Dr A. Obadeji  – MBBS, FMCPsych, MSc (Health Prof. Edu, Stellenboch), Senior Lecturer  (Adjunct Lecturer)
  7. Dr E.O. Ojo – M.B.Ch.B, M.Sc (Pharmacology), FWACP (Cardiology) Lecturer 1 (Adjunct lecturer)



  1. Mr K.B. Omoloso, Chief Laboratory Technologist, ANISLT
  2. Mrs F. Babalola: BSc (SLT) Technologist II
  3. Mrs D Isinkaye: HND (Physiology/Pharmacology) Technologist II
  4. Mr A. Akinola:  (Dip. MLT) Laboratory Technician



  1. Mr Adepoju AK            Principal Executive Officer 1




Departmental Philosophy (for undergraduate medical education)

To produce medical graduates who have sufficient knowledge of basic pharmacology and are able to apply the knowledge of this basic medical science to clinical practice.


Aims and Objectives of the course


  1. To introduce the students to the knowledge and skills of basic pharmacology.
  2. To impact knowledge of the understanding of properties of drugs and the mechanism by which they produce their effects in disease state.
  3. To enable medical students at the end of the course to be competent to select drug(s) rationality for any ailment diagnosed on a scientific basis.
  4. To acquaint student with the National Drug Formulary and the Essential Drug List Decree of 1989.
  5. To acquaint student with the ‘Guide to Good Prescribing’ book produced by WHO.



            At the end of this course, the student:

  1. Must have adequate knowledge of the constitution, uses, history and sources of drugs/medications.
  2. Must have good theoretical knowledge of the mechanism of drug action and the process of drug disposal by humans (pharmacokinetics).
  3. Have adequate knowledge of the rationale for the use of specific drugs for common disease conditions.
  4. Have adequate classification of drugs used for common disease conditions.
  5. Have adequate knowledge of adverse effects of drugs.
  6. Should be able to demonstrate a clear understanding of the key elements of the pharmacology.
  7. Must be able to prescribe drugs rationally based on the pathophysiology of the disease condition keeping in mind patient and other related factors.