Brief History of The Faculty

The Faculty currently comprises of five (5) departments, the office of the Dean is presently located at Room 01, First floor in the Physiology building while the offices of the Heads of Departments, academic staff members and laboratories in the Faculty are located in the three existing buildings within the Faculty.

The First Professional MBBS Examinations for the first set of medical students was held in September 2015. While the first set of degree students in Anatomy and Physiology graduated in 2020/2021 academic session.

The Faculty has the following Deans since inception:

  1. Prof. Adeyinka Afolayan (22nd December 2011 – 31st July 2015 as the Foundation Dean)
  2. Prof. J. O. Bamidele (1st of August 2015 – 31st July 2016)
  3. Dr. A. O. Ajayi (1st August 2016- 31st  July 2018) in acting capacity
  4. Dr. O. A. Awoyinka (1st August 2018- 31st July 2020) in acting capacity
  5. Prof. O. O. Odu (1st August 2020- 31st July 2021)
  6. Prof. O. A. Awoyinka (1st August 2021 – 31st July 2023)
  7. Prof.  O. A. Oseni (1st August 2023 till date) 


List of Departments in the Faculty

Presently, the Faculty has five academic Departments: 

  1. Department of Anatomy
  2. Department of Medical Biochemistry
  3. Department of Medical Laboratory Science
  4. Department of Nursing Science and
  5. Department of Physiology


The current approved academic and diploma programs in the Faculty include:

  1. Bachelor of Medicine; Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) Degree
  2. B.Sc. Degree in Anatomy
  3. B.Sc. Degree in Nursing Science
  4. B.Sc. Degree in Physiology
  5. B.Sc. Degree in Medical Laboratory Science (to commence in 2023/2024 academic session)
  6. Diploma course in Mortuary Services